Useful Information

Restrict Results

Syracuse University, located in the City of Syracuse in the center of New York State, is a private coeducational university comprising 12 undergraduate and graduate schools and colleges. Founded in 1870, the University today has an enrollment of more than 13,000 undergraduates and close to 6,000 graduate and Law students representing all 50 states, more than 100 countries, and a variety of social and economic backgrounds.

A leader in quality graduate education, Syracuse combines the supportive network of a small college with the superior resources and enhanced opportunities needed for students to achieve their academic and professional goals. Students will learn from world-class faculty, assist in critical research, collaborate across disciplines, and immerse themselves in an active intellectual, cultural, and social community. As part of the University’s expansive mission of Scholarship in Action, they also will have numerous opportunities to engage with the larger community, putting their learning to work on pressing local and global issues.

Syracuse University’s picturesque main campus reflects its rich heritage, with an architectural mix of classic and contemporary academic buildings. The Hall of Languages and its early hillside companion, Crouse College, are listed in the National Register of Historic Places. At the heart of the campus is its sweeping “Quad”—an open expanse of lawn and walkways, and a popular gathering place for students throughout the day.

Syracuse University is chartered by the New York State Board of Regents and accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104; 267-284-5000. Professional accreditation for each of the professional colleges and schools accords with the regulations of the appropriate professional association. For further information, contact the dean’s office of each school or college.

Syracuse University is committed to compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and all other applicable laws prohibiting disability discrimination. These statutes generally prohibit discrimination against individuals with disabilities and provide that no otherwise qualified person with a disability shall be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance. Students who may need assistance should contact the Office of Disability Services, Room 309, 804 University Avenue; 315-443-4498, 315-443-1371 (TTY),